AMR Therapy | Online Video Therapy


Grief and Loss

How do I heal from a loss?  Is there an appropriate way to grieve?  When will I get over this?  Why is (insert name) able to handle this so much better than me?  These are a few of the questions you may ask yourself when in the throes of grief.  Managing and coping with grief is an unavoidable experience.  We all must find a way to cope with grief, but how we do it is not a one size fits all.  Throughout the ages, people have coped by participating in rituals, academic exercises, and various other means.  Most of us our looking for a meaningful way to grieve and make senses of the losses that we experience.  Many theories have been put forward, in psychology, meant to help us cope and move on from the unpleasant feelings of grief and loss.

One of the most notable and often quoted theory related to grief and loss are the 5 stages of grief by Elizabeth Kübler -Ross’.  According to her, the 5 stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance happens to all people in the same order.  Admittedly this theory is straightforward, but research has shown it is not always this simple.  It does not consider the person and a whole and individual circumstances.  When experiencing grief and loss it is extremely important to view grief and loss in the context of your own identity and your physical, psychological, social and spiritual needs.  To understand that grieving is a natural process, whether it is the loss of a person, an experience or an idea about how things were “going to be”.  The process is different for everyone, so grief and loss cannot be measured via someone else’s experience.  No one experiences grief and loss the same thing.  Grief is personal and different circumstances may mean different ways of grieving.  Grief is not on a timer and there isn’t’ the right way to do it.  If you decide you need help coping with the feelings and changes, we can support you in your process.

Related Posts

Transforming Insecurity from Childhood Trauma

Transforming Insecurity from Childhood Trauma           6 weeks ago I took a major leap of faith and joined a therapy group for women of color with a focus on childhood trauma and insecurity. I’ve been in and out of individual therapy

Read More

Housing Insecurity & Mental Health

Housing Insecurity & Mental Health           When I was entering my 2nd year of college, my parents decided to sell the home that our family lived in for 12 years. It was the longest running family residence we had in the

Read More

Understanding Gender Fluidity

Understanding Gender Fluidity Our understanding of “reality” is formed by consensus models, agreements, and traditions, but many such models contain internal contradictions or irreconcilable, opposing variables. Such a model is also seen in human sexuality, as it is still common for people to understand sexual

Read More

Peer Counseling for Queer Men with AMR Therapy

Peer Counseling for Queer Men with AMR Therapy What is peer counseling and why is it particularly important for queer men? Queer men are always operating along a behavioral and emotional spectrum: Am I different? How am I different? Why am I different? These questions

Read More

How to Handle Bad News in 3 Steps

How to Handle Bad News in 3 Steps   Whether it is through a phone call, text message, or social media, receiving unexpected bad news can come at us like a freight train.  Whether it’s a friend or family member who is sick or something

Read More